The radio is a bastard this morning

So after a night where I had the most anxiety inducing dreams, these are the two songs the bastard radio has dished up today:

Been watching so much TV
I’m thinner than I should be
I’m like a waterlogged ball
That no-one wants to kick around anymore
An all day morning hair-do
That no comb can get through
It’s all granola and beer
A calling card and a silk cut souvenir
I miss you like sleep
And there’s nothing romantic about the hours I keep
The morning’s when it starts
I don’t look so sharp
Now I got a heavy heart

I talk a lot about football
And girls I kissed in Grade 4
I piss off my friends
I’m digging a hole just staring at the floor
Now every t-shirt’s got a wine stain
I’m loving cigarettes again
I know every tune about guys and girls
and hurts and hearts and moans

I miss you like sleep
And there’s nothing romantic about the hours I keep
The morning’s when it starts
I don’t look so good
Now I’ve got a heavy heart

It’s just a low rent paying, palpitating pulp inside my shirt
But there’s a weight that’s sitting
So hard oh God it hurts
Oh God it hurts

Been watching so much TV
I’m thinner than I should be
I’m like a waterlogged ball
That no-one wants to kick around anymore

I miss you like sleep
And there’s nothing romantic about the hours I keep
The morning when it starts
Oh my heavy heart

And this song that had always reminded me of our relationship:

I think we’re heading in the same direction
When you go bit insane
I try to reason it’s too easy to give up on it
But I don’t wanna play this blame game again

We cover over all the things that bring us closer
And before you know it it’s goodbye
So now you’ve said your piece
And I try to find a way to organize my mind
Stay on course, straight and true
And you, you think we’re heading in the right direction
but I don’t know if I do too

Cos I try to send a message
But you don’t wanna hear it
You’re so obsessed with all the things they said and how they see us
I try to draw the anchor but you just cast another down
Don’t wanna go down with this ship

Don’t wanna go down (with this ship)
No I don’t wanna go down (with this ship)
I don’t wanna go down (with this ship)
No I don’t wanna go down (with this ship)

Cos I try to send a message but you don’t wanna hear it
You’re so obsessed with all the things they said and how they see us
I try to draw the anchor but you just cast another
And I don’t wanna go down with this ship

I fly this flag forever but you don’t wanna see it
The way it was it’s how it is for you and you can’t leave it
We’re only treading water, but slowly sinking deeper
And I don’t wanna go down with this ship

I don’t wanna go down with this ship
I don’t wanna go down with this ship

So shit! It is not helping me to keep a lid on my heartache at all.

~ by abstarini on April 19, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
